A Short Story by Monte R. Anderson

Friends Through Thick or Thin.

Bill walked into his favorite bar and immediately saw his best friend, John, sitting at the bar. “Hey, John. Sup?”

John smiled. “I’m celebrating. I just won the lottery.”

Bill was shocked. “Congratulations. Let me buy you a beer.” He bought John a beer and ordered one for himself.

After a few sips of beer, John said, “Bill, you’re my best friend. I want to share my winnings with you. I’m going to give you half.”

“Aw, you don’t have to do that. I’m just happy for you.”

“No, no. I want to. We’ve been friends since we were in school. You’ve stood by me through thick and thin. I want you to have half.”

Bill smiled. “Okay. Let me buy another round to celebrate.” Bill lifted his glass in a toast. “Here’s to us—friends for life through thick or thin.”

John clicked glasses and drank a big gulp. He took out his wallet and gave Bill a dollar bill. “Here you go.”

Bill stated at the dollar bill. “John, this is only one dollar.”

“Yeah, I know. I only won two.”

THE END

Leave a Reply

Zada

Live The Laptop Life Style

writerdmayall

Dave Mayall's "Authors from Around the World"

Diary of an Internet Nobody.(Archive)

Rants and Musings from the Ether.

Blue Blogs Network

A network of the best LE Blogs on the web:

Being Author

Book promotion, reviews & authors Blog

Writer's Haven

Words from heart

Rishav K Singh

Project Theos

Rationalising The Universe

one post at a time

unbolt me

the literary asylum

Recipe in a Bottle

Connecting to Friends, Old and New, Through Recipes, Gardens, and Dinner Parties

Deidra Alexander's Blog

I have people to kill, lives to ruin, plagues to bring, and worlds to destroy. I am not the Angel of Death. I'm a fiction writer.

