Remember The Sacrifice of Our Soldiers Today

Today is #MemorialDay, a time to remember fallen comrades who died defending freedom. On this day and #VeteransDay, I recall my father, Dale Anderson, who served 35 years in the #Army. He fought in the South Pacific during WWII, in Korea during the war there, and had two tours in #Vietnam. It was possible only because he had a break in service. The man saw a lot of combat. He and I overlapped in Vietnam by six months. Last year, I had a nice e-mail from someone who had met him in the service.

I also remember my uncle Monte who I was named after. He fought and died in the South Pacific during WWII and his body was never recovered. I hope someday that his dog tags show up. Last week I attended the retirement ceremony of my son, LTC Monte Anderson, who retired from the Air Force after 24 years. He saw a lot of combat too. My grandson, Monte Anderson also attended. That’s three Montes named after my uncle. Funny thing is, it was his nick name not his real name.

I am remembering several friends and classmates who died in Vietnam. It’s good to remember their sacrifice. We should all pause for a minute during our barbeques and picnics to remember what today is all about. Happy Memorial Day.

For e-books by me, visit http://smashwords.com/profile/view/monteranderson. Follow me on Twitter at http://twitter.com/monteranderson Follow my blog at http://monteranderson-author.com or https://monteranderson.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

The Letterista

Freelance writing for fun and profit

jagahdilmein

Jagah Dil Mein Honi Chahiye- Stories Have A Life Of Their Own

marine_observer

i owe it to the sea!

Howlin Books

A bookish blog

Zada

Live The Laptop Life Style

writerdmayall

Dave Mayall's "Authors from Around the World"

Diary of an Internet Nobody.(Archive)

Rants and Musings from the Ether.

Blue Blogs Network

A network of the best LE Blogs on the web:

Being Author

Book Promotion & authors BLOG

Writer's Haven

Words from heart

Rishav K Singh

Project Theos

Rationalising The Universe

one post at a time

unbolt me

the literary asylum

