Angels and Gargoyles. Part 8

In 2012 I published a novella, Angels and Gargoyles and offered it for free. Since then it has been downloaded 1675 times. I thought I would post it on my blog a little at a time for your enjoyment. I’ll post it once or twice a week. If you would like a free copy, go to http:/smashwords.com/b/149430. Here is Part 8. Enjoy.

Three turned to the gargoyles. Much to her surprise the victorious warriors were on their knees bowing down toward her.

“What are you doing?”

Garth lifted his head. “We never realized the full power of an angel before. I heard stories but I never, until this minute, believed them. You are awesome!”

Three smiled, “Now get up and someone explained to me what just happened.”

Garth stood up and pointing to the incubator explained, “I asked you to come to see this baby. This is a crack baby. It might not make it through the night. The demons came to steel the baby’s soul or even kill him. We came to guard him.”

Three looked at the others. “Who might these others be?”

Garth pointed at each in turn. “This is my good friend Griff the Griffin. We go way back to France. These four eagles are Edward East, Edward West, Edward North, and Edward South. They serve with me on the Chrysler Building.”

Three smiled as she met each one. Each Edward in turn snapped to attention, clicked his heels, and kissed her hand.

“How do you tell them apart?” asked Three.

“We can’t, so we just call them all Edward. Actually, there are four more, but we could not leave the Chrysler Building unguarded.” Stepping over to the tattered wyvern, “This poor creature is Willie the Wyvern.”

Three looked at Garth. “I thought you said that you did not know…”

“I know I said that I did not know any eagles named Edward or wyverns named Willie,” interrupted Garth. “I felt so stupid that we have names that begin with the same letter as the type of creatures we are, but that is the way it is. I didn’t want you to think less of me.”

Three smiled, “After what happened tonight I will always have the highest regard for gargoyles regardless of their names.” She looked at the Willie’s shredded wings and his claws. “Let me help you.” She touched his wings. Instantly, wings healed, wounds closed, and claws mended. “You will be sore for a few days, but at least now you can heal faster.”

Willie smiled, “It’s okay. We are used to this.”

“How can you fight demons?” Three asked the group.  “Aren’t they immortal just like you?”

“Yes, they are immortal, but they feel pain. If we hurt them enough, they will stop, and leave the baby alone,” said Garth.

“But if they can feel pain, don’t you feel pain too?”

“Yes, very much so,” answered one of the Edwards.

For e-books by me, visit http://smashwords.com/profile/view/monteranderson. Follow me on Twitter at http://twitter.com/monteranderson Follow my blog at http://monteranderson-author.com or https://monteranderson.wordpress.com.

 

Leave a Reply

Zada

Live The Laptop Life Style

writerdmayall

Dave Mayall's "Authors from Around the World"

Diary of an Internet Nobody.(Archive)

Rants and Musings from the Ether.

Blue Blogs Network

A network of the best LE Blogs on the web:

Being Author

Book promotion, reviews & authors Blog

Writer's Haven

Words from heart

Rishav K Singh

Project Theos

Rationalising The Universe

one post at a time

unbolt me

the literary asylum

Recipe in a Bottle

Connecting to Friends, Old and New, Through Recipes, Gardens, and Dinner Parties

Deidra Alexander's Blog

I have people to kill, lives to ruin, plagues to bring, and worlds to destroy. I am not the Angel of Death. I'm a fiction writer.

