Angels and Gargoyles. Part 10

In 2012 I published a novella, Angels and Gargoyles and offered it for free. Since then it has been downloaded 1675 times. I thought I would post it on my blog a little at a time for your enjoyment. I’ll post it once or twice a week. If you would like a free copy, go to http:/smashwords.com/b/149430. Here is Part 10. Enjoy.

“What is going on here?” said a voice from the doorway.

Three was startled and dropped Garth to floor. They both turned to see another angel standing in the doorway.

As Three regained her composure she demanded. “Who are you?”

“I am Three Million Seven Hundred and Six. You can call me Six. I am this baby’s guardian Angel.”

“Well, you are a bit late. We could have used you an hour ago. Thanks to Garth here and his friends, we chased off a pack of demons trying to steal this baby’s soul.”

“I came as soon as we got the prayer. This new hospital isn’t on any of our maps.”

“See!” said Garth. “The system needs to be fixed and a GPS system set into place.”

“Wait a minute,” said Three. “You got a prayer? This baby has no one to prayer for it. Who sent the prayer?”

Six smiled and pointed at Garth.

“You?” asked a surprised Three. “When? How?”

“About the time I was standing alone in the Circle of Protection and things looked bad, I said a quick prayer. Actually, I thought you came as the answer to my prayer.”

Without a word, Three picked up Garth again and kissed him. She never heard the protests of Six who was pushing them out of the room.

Once in the hallway, Garth said, “If you are not busy tonight why don’t you come with us. The demons won’t dare show up with an angel in the room.”

“Okay. But let me carry you so we can fly. It will get us there quicker.”

Three scooped up Garth and flew out of the hospital.  As they soared through the night over New York City, Garth put his arms around her neck. That strange warm sensation came over him again as he wished for a longer trip.

The rest of the night was uneventful. When they finally said good night, Garth gathered up enough courage to kiss Three. He had to stand on a chair to reach her lips. Over the next week Three, Garth, and the little band of gargoyles met every night at various hospitals in New York City. Garth showed Three all the problems associated with unwanted babies. The two of them made sure each baby had a guardian angel. Whenever they could, they kissed or at least held hands.

For e-books by me, visit http://smashwords.com/profile/view/monteranderson. Follow me on Twitter at http://twitter.com/monteranderson Follow my blog at http://monteranderson-author.com or https://monteranderson.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

writerdmayall

Dave Mayall's "Authors from Around the World"

Diary of an Internet Nobody.

Rants and Musings from the Ether.

Blue Blogs Network

A network of the best LE Blogs on the web:

Being Author

Resources and Tools for Authors.

Writer's Haven

Words from heart

Rishav K Singh

Project Theos

Rationalising The Universe

one post at a time

unbolt me

the literary asylum

Recipe in a Bottle

Connecting to Friends, Old and New, Through Recipes, Gardens, and Dinner Parties

Deidra Alexander's Blog

I have people to kill, lives to ruin, plagues to bring, and worlds to destroy. I am not the Angel of Death. I'm a fiction writer.

Sui generis Shaili

A Unique Style 📝 | 💫WorDeD with WiT👑👇

